N.E.D Merit Scholarships, this year we will be awarding  up to $20,000 to graduating high school seniors living in the Nehemiah houses and the surrounding areas of Ocean Hill, Brownsville and East New York.

Open: March 1st- May 1st, 2018

Decision Date: May 15th, 2018


1. Resident of Ocean Hill, Brownsville or East New York 

2. Graduating from High School in good academic standing with high academic achievement. (transcript)

3. Accepted to an Accredited 4-year College or University within the United States. (acceptance letter and/or any confirmation you will attending that academic institution in upcoming semester)

4. Performs community service within an organization that directly benefits the communities of Ocean Hill, Brownsville or East New York. (Written proof of participation must be provided from supervisor or director of the program.)

5. Character reference letter from a teacher, employer or community leader.

5. Submit a two page essay explaining, "Why you deserve this scholarship and how you plan to give back to your community after graduating from college?"

6. Finalists will have to participate a in person or phone interview (at the discretion of NED) before scholarships are awarded.

Email: scholarships@nehemiahed.org for questions and to apply.


Proud to Announce

Nehemiah Economic Development, Inc.'s 2017 Merit Scholarship Recipients

1. Rae-Ann Clarke (Brownsville)

2. Tobi Akinlosotu (Brownsville)

3. Britanna Nelson (East New York)

4. Malik Eason (East New York)

5. Britney Tasher (Brownsville)

6. Thomas Heslop (Brownsville)

7. Matthew McGill (East New York)

8. Kyra-Lee Harry (East New York)

9. Hammisha Brooks (Brownsville)

10. Lynel Johnson (East New York)

More info about our 2018 Merit Scholarship will be released in January of 2018

First Annual Award Ceremony

First Annual Award Ceremony

First Annual Award Ceremony 

First Annual Award Ceremony 

 List of Eligible NYCHA Public Housing Developments Below.

 List of Eligible NYCHA Public Housing Developments Below.

Proud to Announce

The Inaugural Class of Kofi Hormeku Scholarship Recipients

1. Marianna Cole- NYC College of Technology- Unity Plaza

2. Vanisha Cosby-Billups- John Jay College of Criminal Justice- Breukelen Houses

3. Sabiha Khawja- John Jay College of Criminal Justice- Breukelen Houses

4. Yanisleidy Lewis Magan- Brooklyn College- Van Dyke Houses

5. Diane Simmons- Kingsborough Community College- Brownsville Houses


Scholarship Criteria

1) Be an authorized NYCHA resident
2) Be a sophomore, junior or senior student enrolled full-time in a CUNY Associate or Baccalaureate degree program
3) Have a minimum 2.5 GPA
4) Submit a 500-word essay
Essay Question: NYCHA and CUNY, as public institutions, are committed to helping low-income New Yorkers realize their full potential through higher education. As a member of both communities, we invite you to write an essay that describes how being a resident of public housing AND attending a CUNY college is helping you to achieve your professional goals.

FullSizeRender-5 2.jpg